Good sites for ERE-style food

Fixing and making things, what tools to get and what skills to learn, ...
tjt

Post by tjt »

Anyone know of some good websites, books, or other resources for creating a ERE-style meal plan? My wife and I have no experience doing much of anything other than eating pre-processed foods. So we're starting from scratch.
I'd like to figure out what staples we should keep in the fridge/freezer/pantry, recipes, storing strategies (canning, freezing, etc) and anything else we should know. We're excited to go do it, we just don't know how!
I'm willing to experiment and learn, but if there's a resource that covers all these things in detail that would be a helpful guide.

aquadump

Post by aquadump »

Using your favorite search engine, browse for "site:http://forum.earlyretirementextreme.com/ recipes." I think this will provide a good start to your question.

S

Post by S »

This site is good if you're looking for a plan: http://www.cookforgood.com/ She has monthly meal plans by season and suggested shopping lists to go with them which would give you an idea of pantry staples. Most of the recipes are fairly simple, but if you are just learning how to cook then you might need to do some basic skill learning first elsewhere (how to chop an onion, how to knead bread, how to tell the food is "done", etc depending your skill level). I have not followed any of the plans, but I have used some of the recipes and liked them.