40% in Michigan Can't Make Ends Meet

Intended for constructive conversations. Exhibits of polarizing tribalism will be deleted.
workathome

40% in Michigan Can't Make Ends Meet

Post by workathome »

"4 in 10 Michigan households struggle to make ends meet"

http://www.mlive.com/lansing-news/index ... ouseh.html

However, they define self-sufficiency as 92k/year... seems a bit high to me...

Sclass

Re: 40% in Michigan Can't Make Ends Meet

Post by Sclass »

I have mixed feelings when I read articles like this. I guess this is why you post it.

On one hand it just sounds like these people are really inefficient. I read another one a year back about how 20% food stamp cuts were going to starve out people. I laughed when I thought of the people here regularly making great meals for $3 ea.

I had the once in a lifetime chance (for a middle class kid) of shacking up with a single mom on welfare when I was a college student. I'll never feel the same about welfare people. It was kind of like extreme reality summer camp. She had plenty of money for food but she just squandered it on dumb purchases like Bugs Bunny TV dinners for her kid. They ate expensive trash. They got fat. She was doled out about 80% what I made as a summer intern at a big corporation.

What made it even easier for me then was we lived in the San Joaquin Valley. I learned how to hit the packing sheds after work and buy produce unfit to ship. I ate very well on almost no money.

My roommate was stunned I ate so much fresh food. "honey you heat so healthy!"

She got fat. Her kid got fat. She stole my stuff and pawned it. She defaulted on a $400 loan i gave her (priceless education!). I ran back to college after poverty summer camp ended. Now I'm a pretty cold bastard when I read these accounts of hardship.

workathome

Post by workathome »

That explains this then: