Hello from NY

Say hello!!
Scamp

Post by Scamp »

Long time lurker, so I thought I would introduce myself and participate in the forums as I have been enjoying this community so much. I am an INFJ married to a INTJ. Been 30 for about a month and married for about 3 months.
Like several others on this forum, I have an expensive advanced degree that did not translate into a high salary (or currently even a job I enjoy;) however I can’t complain as I have extremely generous parents who funded my education (and apparently passed along some frugal genes)
Until discovering the ERE math, I had simply been looking for ways for lowering my expenses in the future, just thinking that maybe I could work less one day. My husband introduced me to earthships and we flew out to New Mexico for one of the seminars and stayed in one. (They are awesome by the way and I’d still love to build/live in one, but in a less hot climate.) We have a large vegetable garden, 4 chickens and an industrialized sized worm bin.
Jacob, this website opened my eyes to a new possibility of complete financial independence, early retirement, and a structured goal to work towards and for this I am very thankful. I tried to get my husband interested by reading him your blog posts (especially the cycling ones,) but it was really your book that finally turned his mind to the ERE philosophy. As a jack-of-all trades, he relates well to the renaissance man concept.