Hello and question

Say hello!!
catnip1

Hello and question

Post by catnip1 »

Hi,
I'm kind of new to the ERE idea, but want to learn.

Female
42 years old
never married, no children

I recently transferred for work from a smallish city to the largest city in the state, with a huge increase in housing costs and small increase in income. I basically emptied my savings to get out of my old house and into the new one. I did look for rental options, but was hindered by pet policies.

Gross Income: $112,000
Take Home: $69,676
Mortgage Payment: $1,530.85 per month/$18,370 per year (includes escrow; principal balance is $223,000, appraisal was $253,000 for a 2b/1ba house)
All other monthly expenses, including student loan payments, total about $1,450 per month/$17,400 per year
Nonmonthly expenses (insurance, medical, clothes, travel, auto maintenance/taxes, pet care, home maintenance, etc.) total about $15,000 per year
I don't have a car payment or any credit card debt

Retirement savings
401(k): $278,371
Roth IRA: $42,942

Nonretirement savings/investments: $5,000 (as I said, the move killed my savings)

Other than 401(k) contributions, my monthly savings are negligible at the moment because I'm still adjusting from the move and trying to sort out a new budget, which is where my question comes in--

Without making any major adjustments to budget, I have about $20,000 per year not earmarked for spending.

I'm inclined to put a lot of extra money toward the mortgage payment and more gradually rebuild my savings. This is mainly because mentally I have a hard time with the fact that I'm paying way more in interest than in principal and I hate paying PMI. But, I suspect I might be better off by aggressively rebuilding my savings. I just really hate seeing that huge mortgage balance.

What would you advise--extra mortgage payments or savings?

teresajs

Re: Hello and question

Post by teresajs »