My search for a rich life

Where are you and where are you going?
RichUK

My search for a rich life

Post by RichUK »

Net Worth: £55,000

Background
My Introduction Post

Between 2004-2009 I was a passionate programmer. I'm entirely self-taught and I was the type of developer that loved participating in conferences and user-groups just for the fun of it. I was also obese (440lb+). In 2009 I got my shit together. It took me about 2 years, but I lost 200lb+ and reclaimed my life. Since 2011 I've worked and average of 8 months each year, spending the rest of the time travelling/living elsewhere in the world (mostly New Zealand, Canada, US, and Europe). As a part of questioning my life and what I want to do with "the new me", I've fallen out of love with software development. The old me was the passionate geek for whom internet culture and programmer were my main interests (probably due to my circumstances); the new me isn't that guy. The new me loves to run, hike, snowboard and travel. I'm about to complete an undergraduate degree in psychology and am enrolled into a master's programme starting in September. This is in part a strategy to move away from my IT job, but it's also something that I get a fair amount of pleasure from exploring.