When did you discover ERE?

Favorite quotations, etc.
cmonkey

When did you discover ERE?

Post by cmonkey »

I thought it would be fun to start a thread (outside of journals) where we could talk about our beginnings.

How long ago and how did you discover the ERE lifestyle?

Was it something you were practicing before finding this community or something you learned to practice afterwards?

Personally, I have been living and ERE lifestyle since 2011, but didn't discover this community until 2013. I committed myself to owning my house (no mortage) as fast as I could because I like having roots and its much cheaper than renting. We learned to live on like 40% of our income, putting about 50% to 60% toward the mortgage without even breaking a sweat. It never dawned on me that I could keep up that lifestyle, and save so much that I could quit my job.

Once I paid off the mortgage I had a ton of extra money and so I started playing around with Excel spreadsheets, running numbers on how much I could save and how fast I could save and was astounded at the sum I could "mathematically" achieve in a short time (3-4 years), and dumbfounded at the level I could achieve by age 65. Math doesn't lie.

Of course, I started having doubts about whether it was possible so I started searching around for people who lived similar lives and bingo here I am :)

What's your story?

akratic

Re: When did you discover ERE?

Post by akratic »

6 Dec 2009

My friend and former coworker sent me a Facebook message with a link to the ERE blog. At that time, neither of us were retired, and now we both are!

walker

Post by walker »

I have always been what DH fondly calls "cheap", and lurked for a long time on forums such as Motley Fool Living Below Your Means and early-retirement.org. Found ERE through MMM, who I found via Lifehacker. Started out saving 50% of income to pay off student loans and never looked back… but this forum/blog takes it to a whole 'nother level!

Sclass

Post by Sclass »