Rural Kiwi's Journal

Where are you and where are you going?
Rural Kiwi

Rural Kiwi's Journal

Post by Rural Kiwi »

Greetings from sunny (mostly) New Zealand!
Any kiwi's out there??

I'm a twenty year old male living the country life with a goal of being 'retired' by thirty. I define retired by having money that allows you options. Having options is freedom! Monetarily this means $350k for FI and $500k for retirement. But I'm only at the very beginning of my journey so hopefully this will be a great place to unload, get feedback and make a few terrible puns. So please let the constructive criticism, thoughts and puns flow :)

I am currently studying a degree in farming which has huge demand in NZ and a highly technical area. I love the mix of science, business and of course being outside in NZ's beautiful environment. I finish university in June and am currently in a summer job that pays well (for a summer job) until Feb. I'll be looking to invest in the rural community as I can see many opportunities, I haven't seen much of this around the forums so if anyone out there is doing something similar please say hi!

Finances
Debts
$45k Student loan - at 0% if working in NZ with compulsory repayments. This goes to 5.5% if I leave NZ so this needs to be paid off before overseas work (If I want to?).

Assets
$1k road bike - my transportation, exercise and favourite possession.
$0.5k Tramping (what hiking is called in NZ) equipment.
$0.1 checking account - Having such a small amount discourages spending.
$2.5k emergency fund at 3.5% interest - aiming for 5k by feb.
$1.5k Kiwisaver (super) - for company contributions. Can be used to buy first house.

Budget (over summer)
+$2500 per month
-$720 for board including food and all utilities.
-$20 pre pay phone
-$10 skype credit (any other suggestions so I can call grandparents overseas?)
-$200 other