Journal of DrSweden

Where are you and where are you going?
DrSweden

Journal of DrSweden

Post by DrSweden »

Job/Education: :As my nickname suggest I am a doctor from Sweden. I am currently doing my residency in psychiatry with about 4 years to go. I am trying to finish my PhD at the same time with a plan to present it in 2016.

Family: I am married and have to children (1,5 years old and 1 month). Me and my wife have separate economics. We split everything for the household, car and so on. Since she is on maternity leave (we get 80% of salary in sweden, but we stretch it out so she will have 50%). I give her money each month so she gets 75% of her normal salary after taxes. We have found it to be better to separate our finances in this way.

Housing: We live in a 1540 square feet (143 m2) house in southern part of Sweden. We own the house and has a mortage of about 80%. Debt 260 000 $. Interest 2,97% (We get 30% back in sweden from the goverment).

FI-plan: My plan is to be FI at the age of 40 (I am almost 30 now). Last year did I make 117 000 $ pretax and 72100 after tax (38,36% tax). I save 50 % of my net earnings (does not count money I give to my wife). My goal is to save even more. I take the bus to work (20 km) but we own a 2003 audi.

Since I haven't worked that long I have not had the time to accumulate so much assets. My net worth today is 90 000 $. I invest in companies that pay dividend but at the moment I collect money for a future correction.

Training: Being on good shape is important for me. Being able to run 10 km, or do 200 snatches with a 24 kg kb in 10 min (Have done this earlier) is two skills I want to be able to do anytime. I like to be strong but mostly I want to focus on my cardiovascular health.

My goal for the current is to drop down to 85 kg (from about 87-88) kg and to run 3 times a week. Deadlifts and kb is in focus as well in the gym.

DrSweden

Re: Journal of DrSweden

Post by DrSweden »