Am I a hermit

Simple living, extreme early retirement, becoming and being wealthy, wisdom, praxis, personal growth,...
george

Post by george »

I'm introverted, there seem to be quite a few of us here.
No matter how hard I try I can't seem to convince people that I'm happy not being social, that I like to keep my weekends etc free. And please don't ever turn up without phoning first.
And if you do phone, don't assume that because I'm home that I'm available for a visit.
And especially don't turn up at tea time or lunch time.
I don't feel like I'm missing out on anything, when I was busier I did.
One of the reasons for my ERE is to have freedom to do what I want at times, even if it's nothing.
Eg I love to dream, jigsaws etc.
It's so tempting to cut myself off from everyone except close family.
Am I a hermit, are you a hermit?, and any tips on how to stop people from just turning up.
I'm not very good at hiding.

m741

Post by m741 »

You don't sound like a hermit, you just sound introverted. This is pretty normal for introverts.
I've never had a problem with people 'just turning up.' I don't carry a phone and rarely answer it when it's around. I don't know anyone who would invite themselves to visit me, and would consider it presumptuous if they did (unless it was a neighbor asking for/doing a favor). If I invited myself to visit someone else, uninvited, I would feel near-physical pain/discomfort and it is curious to me that other people apparently don't feel this way.

Ego

Post by Ego »

Why you feel the need to ask?
Not being social is fine. Feeling the need to convince others that you are happy about not being social is a whole other kettle of fish.
Pursuing ERE in order to have more control over ones time for... say... meditation is a wonderful thing. As long as it is combined with other social activities. But spending ones entire day dreaming and doing jigsaws is not living. It is retreating from something.