Work environments in software development

Anything to do with the traditional world of get a degree, get a job as well as its alternatives
AnalyticalEngine

Work environments in software development

Post by AnalyticalEngine »

Hello esteemed ERE forum. I am a software developer with ten years of experience looking for a new job and I have a question for my fellow developers here.

Specifically, what types of environments have you worked in and which ones did you like? I have worked basically only in corporate environments that are some variant of Agile micromangement hell, but I'm interviewing with a tech startup right now that seems to be the polar opposite of this. There's this huge focus on being "lean" and on individual engineers and their productivity. On one hand, I think this would be great to escape the bureaucratic torment of corporate Agile, but on the other hand, the Kafkaesque, incredibly slow nature of corporate Agile makes it easy to do all my work in a few hours a week then have time for other things. My concern with a startup is that, while the work maybe more interesting and I would enjoy more challenging engineering problems, that it might also consume my life.

So what experience do you all have working in different work environments in software? Which was your favorite and why?

zbigi

Re: Work environments in software development

Post by zbigi »

I've worked in many environments (I'm a consummate job hopper, which is why contracting suits me), and basically the only one I liked was when I was the one and only developer in a researchy startup. Finally, I had authonomy over how I do my work. I didn't need to justify and explain minute choices I made to other developers (I hate code reviews), could experiment etc. This was probably as good as good the work can get.