bookworm's journal

Where are you and where are you going?
bookworm

bookworm's journal

Post by bookworm »

Well here goes. I've been putting this off for a long time, years at this point. Some introduction on myself is here: viewtopic.php?t=12959

One reason for this journal is that I need the accountability. Aside from my partner and a few friends, I don’t have a lot of people right now who are really clued into ERE or anything related. I get the sense that moving away from the salaryman mindset is going to take a while longer, even though I am at/close to FI on paper.

As mentioned previously, I have been pursuing some version of Lean FIRE since I was 24 (six years ago now). While doing so I developed some useful skills, reduced spending, traveled on the cheap, improved my baseline mental/physical health, and generally simplified my life. But I also got complacent and fell into WL4/5 traps, e.g. optimizing for money above all else, obsessing about small amounts of spending while neglecting health, etc. So my focus is to get into more of a WL6 space so that I’m ready for the next stage of my life.

The focus here will be on my attempts to develop skills, find community, build an appreciation for my life, and deal with some sticky interpersonal issues as they relate to pursuing ERE. The financial part will be tracked, but only as one node in a larger web of goals. Browsing these forums anonymously is a useful form of consumption for my life goals, but it is still passive. I feel the need to put something out there myself at this point after absorbing so much. Hopefully in the process I will help clarify things for myself and maybe help others on their own journeys.

Western Red Cedar

Re: bookworm's journal

Post by Western Red Cedar »