Frugaldoc's journal

Where are you and where are you going?
frugaldoc

Frugaldoc's journal

Post by frugaldoc »

My not so “early” and not very “extreme” financial independence journal.

I have been contemplating starting a journal here for some time but have delayed for several reasons:
1. My age of 49 doesn’t put me in the early retirement camp.
2. My financial independence spending goals aren’t extremely low.
3. The assets accumulated aren’t very impressive compared to many on here.

However, today I realized that I am exactly 100 days away from my 50th birthday and I feel like I need a kick in the backside and some accountability to push my life into the zone where I feel good about my situation.

A bit of background. I am a family medicine physician in the Navy but despite being 49 only finished residency in 2016 (age 42). I have taken a meandering path through life and arrived late at my chosen profession. After grinding away as a hospitalist (making my highest income to date) for two years I joined the Navy to have some unique life experiences. I certainly have had those in a brief 5 years. I am currently the Senior Medical Officer (SMO) on one of our forward deployed (Japan) large deck amphibious ships. With my previous Air Force time I will be hitting 15 years of active-duty service in March 2024.

One of the things I love about the ERE life Jacob advocates for is its holistic approach to being an independent person. He advocates health just as much as wealth, maybe even more so. We often get caught up on the financial aspect (which I am doing okay with) to the exclusion of health (which I am failing at miserably). Perhaps that is because money to such an easy metric to track while health and fitness are less amenable to tracking in a spreadsheet.

Before getting to some basic goals let me lay out what seems to be going well and what is not going so well.