AE's Journal Round 6 - Navigating the Liminal Space

Where are you and where are you going?
AnalyticalEngine

AE's Journal Round 6 - Navigating the Liminal Space

Post by AnalyticalEngine »

Background: I am 33 years-old, single with no kids, live in Denver, CO, and work remotely as a software engineer. I have been pursuing FI since 2012 and have reached my leanFIRE, back of the napkin, NW target of $750k. I wrote an older journal about regaining my sense of agency after losing it to the salaryman lifestyle, which you can read about here.

I have since regained my sense of agency by doing a lot of Jungian self-therapy (which I can elaborate on if anyone wants to hear it) and trying to unlearn some painful experiences from my past. And now that I have agency, I'm attempting to actually redesign and live my lifestyle instead of just hoarding money and praying FI comes sooner.

Lifestyle design
My current challenge is building and maintaining a fulfilling lifestyle for the first time in my life. Living without agency blinds you to the options you actually do have, and so learning to actually act on those opportunities is the skill I am currently trying to cultivate.

Here are my current lifestyle targets I am trying to incorporate into my web-of-goals. The format of this journal will be measuring progress against these goals on a monthly or quarterly basis.

1. Fitness
I have been exercising fairly consistently since early 2022, and the better shape I get in, the more I realize the world of fitness is vast and limitless and I could be going so much further than I am. So my current target is to run 2x/week, lift weights 2x/week, and cultivate more active hobbies like skiing and hiking, of which Colorado has many options.

2. Diet