Learning to do independent research without a PhD program

Anything to do with the traditional world of get a degree, get a job as well as its alternatives
mathiverse

Learning to do independent research without a PhD program

Post by mathiverse »

Hi all,

I know there are a bunch of research scientists on the forums, so I thought I might get insight here.

I'm very interested in learning to do independent research. My goals are:
  • to be the first to discover something interesting,
  • to make it up the CCCCCC ladder to become an expert in some topic,
  • to enhance my abstract thinking skills,
  • and to do something where I can have a lot of personal growth in general.
I'm mostly interested in mathematics research or maybe mathematical physics. I have a Bachelor's in Math. I don't have any more specifics than that at this point since it's pretty early in my exploration phase. I've been learning about different areas of math and open problems in the field. Doing math also means I have no need for institutional resources like huge experimental apparatuses, so let's assume I don't need that type of financial/tool support for the research I'd like to do.

I can obviously do this all of this via a PhD program. However, I want to explore whether there are alternatives that can be done without enrollment in an educational institution. I recognize the final answer might be that you can't or it's extremely unlikely, but let's not start there. I get that it's unlikely and unusual. Still, how can I approach this?

Here are a few questions to start things off.
  • To enroll in a PhD program, one often needs to pass quals, is the ability to pass quals necessary beyond institutional hazing? Basically, I'm wondering to what extent it's really necessary to learn a broad subsection of the field in such a way that one is fluent in the types of problems on qualification exams if you aren't in a PhD program that requires them?