Kielbasy journal

Where are you and where are you going?
Kielbasy

Kielbasy journal

Post by Kielbasy »

The number:

I've seen some very complex work done to calculate "the number". My thoughts are pretty simple:

[Gross salary - all investments for a year - mortgage principal - mortgage interest] ÷ SWR

Assumes everything I am not investing is expenses and my mortgage will be paid off.

The first assumption is mostly guessing. Future me will save a lot on taxes, but may spend quite a bit more on insurance. This assumes it is going to be a wash. It is a few years out, this is close enough for now.

The job:

I am a lower middle manager of a small engineering team making overpriced medical products with little medical value. I have no interest in management or engineering at this point. I listen to Hermetix podcast and the host asked an author of a book on hermits why he was interested in the subject. He answered that he's had supervisors and colleagues who were less than ideal. This is the nexus of early retirement. In 2018 I got a manager I hated as a manager and as a person. I'd been what I considered focused on retirement after reading John Thorne books and decided I would check out at 59.5. somewhere in here I used the retirement tools on the fidelity website and realized I would have much more than needed at 59.5. then COVID lockdown had this brief moment where life was much slower in pace. I've not recovered any interest in office work.

Awful boss left the company which is good, but the nearest to work friends I had are also gone. It is sometimes tolerable is about the best I can say.

The future:

Slowness. Basically all my interests fit into this. I'd consider PT work at a library, harvesting grapes, pouring beer at the brewery down the street, dog sitting or walking or PT work at a greenhouse. No meetings, no Microsoft teams, no performance reviews no action plans no email no quality emergencies. . .