Best place to buy lentils online?

Simple living, extreme early retirement, becoming and being wealthy, wisdom, praxis, personal growth,...
chickenstick

Best place to buy lentils online?

Post by chickenstick »

Anybody have success buying lentils online? I am new to the lentil scene and am in love. I plan to make it a staple in our family diet and search the forums here for recipes, but want to find places where I can buy big bags of them - as cheaply as possible, of course - and figure some of y'all have done some research and homework on this.

Slevin

Re: Best place to buy lentils online?

Post by Slevin »

Azure Standard is the place I buy bulk bags of things if I need to buy online (but local bulk stores will likely be better if you have one). Whether or not it will work well for you probably depends on whether there is a drop off spot close.

jacob
Site Admin
Location: USA, Zone 5b, Koppen Dfa, Elev. 620ft, Walkscore 77

Post by jacob »

Don't underestimate going to Walmart in person. You might have to clear the entire shelf of one pound bags to get anywhere close to 25 or 50lbs, but it will often be cheaper for the basic of basics, i.e. black beans, pinto beans, white rice, white flour, sugar, red and brown lentils.

Ego

Post by Ego »

What price per pound would entice you to stock up on 1lb walmart bags? Not just lentils but pinto, black beans, kidney beans.....

I've stopped buying beans from my used-food guy if they do not have a reasonable date because every once in a while I will get some that just refuse to soften.

jacob
Site Admin
Location: USA, Zone 5b, Koppen Dfa, Elev. 620ft, Walkscore 77

Post by jacob »

Ego wrote:
Thu Apr 27, 2023 11:42 am
What price per pound would entice you to stock up on 1lb walmart bags? Not just lentils but pinto, black beans, kidney beans.....