So you want to grow mushrooms?

Fixing and making things, what tools to get and what skills to learn, ...
ffj

So you want to grow mushrooms?

Post by ffj »

Hello All

In the spirit of sharing, I'd like to demonstrate how I have learned how to grow gourmet mushrooms. My plan is to sell at the Farmers Market in a few months and that means I need to get started now in preparation as some species take a while to fruit. You guys can follow my preparations as I do them in real time.

Once you acquire enough knowledge, you'll learn it isn't crazy hard to grow mushrooms, but getting to that point can be frustrating as there are so many inputs you have to deal with that it can be overwhelming. But I am going to try to simplify the process not only for others to learn but to make my efforts worthwhile.

I am not an expert by any means, barely competent would be a better description of my skills. But I am good at following directions from people I trust and I am not afraid to research until I find a satisfactory answer. You guys can be the beneficiary of my efforts hopefully.

O.K., let's get started. I want to grow Shiitake, among other mushrooms, but Shiitake take a while (couple months or more) before I can take a colonized block of substrate and fruit it. That is one of the reasons why they are more expensive as they take up valuable real estate in limited spaces while you play the waiting game. Here is an image of Shiitake I grew a couple of years ago:

The is a company I buy mycelium from ( there are many others but here is a good, reputable example):

They send you a syringe filled with the mycelium of the mushroom species you've selected: