Wanting less and living more

Where are you and where are you going?
crabapples

Wanting less and living more

Post by crabapples »

Today is a good day to start my journal. My husband has Covid 19 and I just sent an email to my manager to let her know that I won't be at work this weekend so that I can be home to care for him and our four kids. It's not technically an FMLA protected absence (unless, God forbid, things get a lot worse). As a result, I'm possibly placing my weekend contract status in jeopardy by calling off on a holiday weekend, but I am a mother and a wife before I'm a nurse and an employee, and it felt great to send that email.

The other E.R.E.-ish thing I did today was construct a "self-closing" portiere rod for our front door curtains. They are there to keep the draft out of our 100+ year old house, and the door was running into them every time we opened it, which was very inconvenient. I could have ordered a purpose made rod for $80 plus shipping from England. God, the carbon footprint on that would be enormous, although it appears to be beautifully made by blacksmiths instead of machines. But, I took the curtain rod we already hand, hammered the brackets into new shapes, hammered one end of the rod flat, drove a nail through it for a hinge, and hung it all back up. Now the curtains move back and forth with the door. I don't think I could be more pleased with myself.

Anyhow that's why I'm here. I'm interested in doing things for myself, and living as a human being, not a wage worker. I like wanting less instead of earning more. I want to be rich in skills and relationships; status is boring.