OKR

Anything to do with the traditional world of get a degree, get a job as well as its alternatives
jacob
Site Admin
Location: USA, Zone 5b, Koppen Dfa, Elev. 620ft, Walkscore 77

OKR

Post by jacob »

Does anyone have any experience with the OKR system of management? OKR stands for "objective/key-results". As far as I know, it's popular in Silicon Valley. How does it feel in practice in terms of stress? creativity? busywork? meetings?

bostonimproper

Re: OKR

Post by bostonimproper »

I’m a product manager in big tech— pretty much every company I’ve worked at does some combination of OKR setting and creating a prioritized project list to do annual, half, and/or quarterly planning.

The canonical book on OKRs is Measure What Matters by John Doerr. A lot of management is forced to read it at some point, I guess, so you should start there. In practice, though, every organization (or even team within an organization) has a different philosophy and practice in doing planning. Really, it’s like any other management tool— applied well by good management, it can be great; applied poorly by bad management, and it can be terrible.
How does it feel in practice in terms of stress? creativity? busywork? meetings?
Not sure what you mean by this? In broad strokes, this is the general process I’ve seen for planning:
- Upper level management has a long-term vision. They create a primary set of OKRs (north star) for the year.
- Teams come up with ways that they may be able to help the company within their own remit. Sometimes upper management doles out individual OKRs to individual teams. Sometimes teams propose their own OKRs which ladder up to company OKRs, based on the metrics that make the most sense for that team to own. This is usually led by team managers, though often brainstorming with their team. At the end of this brainstorming, you end up with a team plan that says: Here’s what we’ll do (projects) and here’s how we think it’ll ladder up to company goals (team OKRs).