ERE Motivation:

Move along, nothing to see here!
M

ERE Motivation:

Post by M »

I am curious, what motivated you to pursue ERE originally? Financial freedom? Financial security? Dislike of chosen profession/job stress? Dislike of doing same thing more than a few years at a time? Concerns about climate change/resource depletion?

Why are you following this lifestyle?

I will start.

When I was a kid I saw some families in my neighborhood lose their home to foreclosure. This was a new idea to me - the idea that you can simply lose the place you call home due to not paying the mortgage.

So the first reason I started saving and changing my lifestyle from normal work - spend lifestyle was to buy a house and pay it off as soon as possible.

While going to community college I bought the cheapest house I could find and paid it off before I turned 21. After I graduated college I was a little concerned about future job prospects with only a two year degree, but did not want to continue working full time while also going to school full time. So I started saving money to quit my job and go back to school. I put this money into savings...then cds...then bonds, then mutual funds, etc. Eventually it dawned on me that if I did this long enough and kept my expenses low enough I wouldn't really need to go back to school and could instead live off the investments. A few years after following this path I found this website and it seemed to match most closely with what I was doing.

So in my case, my primary motivation was to seek financial security.

What is your motivation for ERE?

AxelHeyst

Re: ERE Motivation:

Post by AxelHeyst »

Desire to align my lifestyle with my values and worldview (cc, ecosystem destruction, energy descent, etc), reduce/ eliminate cognitive dissonance, and increase readiness for whatever comes next.

Secondarily, to enable the eccentric lifestyle that I couldn't figure out how to pull off before...

ertyu

Post by ertyu »