Message in a Bottle

Say hello!!
CaptainCrusoe

Message in a Bottle

Post by CaptainCrusoe »

Once upon a time, there was a man living on an island in the Pacific Ocean, with no neighbors in sight, in a small hut with a big garden, and a lot of time to ponder. His partner was cooking a meal while he was busily writing down a letter to be sent into the wide world -- well, not by bottle, but rather via internet; the analogy had to break down somewhere :)

Thanks for your interest in how we spend our days, and where we hope to get to. I'm looking forward to chatting with you all and learning about your world views, maybe propose a new view myself. I've been known to stick with a theory as long as it made sense and was internally consistent, but to switch to a different one if shown to be a better match with reality.

My story in short: I got an astronomy PhD in Switzerland, decided to leave the country for greener pastures, and set up a tiny house in New Zealand. I live happily with little luxury, and reached freedom from serfdom after 5 years on the job. Thanks to the law of truly large numbers I just had to find the blog of a financially independent expat astronomer with a knack for mindful living :D

How did I end up here? I'll explain in a journal.

What am I all about? Jacob wrote that people tend to be inconsistent with the values they proclaim and the ones they actually live by. I don't like inconsistencies; so here's an opportunity for you to hold me to account later:

critical: health; eating nutritious food
very important: do meaningful things; wellbeing of loved ones
important: freedom, no debt, security, having means
would be nice: improve the future, flexibility, ease, achieve potential, follow a passion
luxury: self-esteem, form an identity, have an impact, reduce suffering of strangers
relatively unimportant: respect, inclusion, approval, appreciation, status, fame, power

The categories are from Tim Urban's pentapus.