KRUMPn and BUMPn

Where are you and where are you going?
KRUMPn

KRUMPn and BUMPn

Post by KRUMPn »

Background
I am currently 29 M working remotely in software development for a major insurance company. It is the only job (WILL be my last corporate job) I have had after graduating with a degree in CS (shocker!). My ERE journey originally started about 7 years ago while I was perusing personal finance and financial independence type media. During college I had an internship with the Air Force as a civilian, which gave me an early glimpse into the bloat, waste and boredom that seems almost integral to large bureaucracies. I decided in my first year that there was no way I could possibly spend 40 years doing this without blowing my brains out, so I started chunking money away into the TSP since that was the only way I knew to accomplish this. Fortunately my parents were able to provide me with assistance for college, so I graduated with no debt. As I moved into my current job, I started chunking more money away (30% into my 401(k)), but was starting down the typical route of spending more money as I earned more. Luckily my laziness and loathing of driving prevented me from living far from work (I haven't lived farther than about a mile and walked until I went remote), but I was still in an upscale 10th floor apartment across the street. Unfortunately, the on-boarding to insurance is relatively slow and no senior developer's trust new hires (rightfully so) with anything, so that boredom had me searching for anything to speed up this process. That is when I discovered ERE and then MMM and FIRE by association.