Dharma and non duality

The "other" ERE. Societal aspects of the ERE philosophy. Emergent change-making, scale-effects,...
chenda

Dharma and non duality

Post by chenda »

A few people have expressed an interest in this topic so lets give it go!

I've been studying Advaita Vedanta for a few years, mostly by listening to lectures by Swami Sarvapriyananda. He is an intellectual genius no doubt, and an incredibly giften teacher. Advaita appeals to my rational side, as does Buddhist metaphysics (I was an uncompromising atheist since I knew what the word meant) Yet it also feels a bit solipsistic and lonely.

I don't want to entirely loose my individuality and have increasingly been drawn to Shaktism and various other vedic schools which emphasise a more qualified non dualism where the individual retains their existence in some form.

Anyway there's lots I could ramble on about but I'd be interested in others experiences and thoughts on the matter...

jacob
Site Admin
Location: USA, Zone 5b, Koppen Dfa, Elev. 620ft, Walkscore 77

Re: Dharma and non duality

Post by jacob »

I'd be very interested in a discussion whether either is possible w/o putting you own oxygen max first. In particular... or just to pick a pressure point, just how far is it possible to unify body and soul insofar you're still focused on paying the bills? To which degree is it possible to pursue [transpersonal realms] as a hobby?

chenda

Post by chenda »

You've lost me there jacob :lol: Something about putting your own oxygen mask on first you mean ?

jacob
Site Admin

Post by jacob »

chenda wrote:
Tue Nov 16, 2021 4:20 pm
You've lost me there jacob :lol: Something about putting your own oxygen mask on first you mean ?
Such as whether it is even remotely possible to try to unify body and spirit if the body is still concerned about paying rent or any other kinds of debt (bad health, pains, etc.) or if the spirit is still concerned about paying rent to past insults or current injustices, etc.