Any math teachers here?

Anything to do with the traditional world of get a degree, get a job as well as its alternatives
guitarplayer

Any math teachers here?

Post by guitarplayer »

Any math teachers here?

Particularly in the UK there is lots of noise about teachers in general being overworked, I am not sure to what extent I would want to believe it.

I have heard on multiple occasions by now that I would make a good teacher. I have lots of experience with verbal / physical challenging behaviour coming from children and adults alike; I now study Maths, so probing the subject.

daylen

Re: Any math teachers here?

Post by daylen »

I was for about six months until I figured that it wasn't for me. Whether or not teachers are overworked is quite subjective, though on the whole it would seem that most people are these days across all careers. I tutor now part-time which is a whole different beast to classroom management.

7Wannabe5

Post by 7Wannabe5 »

Have you seen the movie “Blackboard Jungle?” JK :lol:

Seriously, the main problem with teaching at K-12 level is that school attendance is compulsory, so you have to be part cop and part parent in addition to the actual teaching bit. So, for instance, teaching remedial math to community college students or home-schooled kids who choose to show up is a much more relaxing and rewarding job, unless you are somebody who derives personal validation for being good at the cop and/or parent bits.

WFJ

Post by WFJ »