Divan dan journal

Where are you and where are you going?
sky

Re: Divan dan journal

Post by sky »

Welcome

I had my appendix removed in Sarajevo, after drinking turkish coffee in a downtown cafe. The hospital bill was $18 and some cents.

I recently started playing guitar again, after buying a $40 guitar from craigslist. Doing a youtube search on "[name of song] guitar lesson" gives excellent results.

Divandan

Post by Divandan »

Hi Sky! I have made the mistake of having turkish coffee quite late at night and being up all night as a result (and I have a pretty high tolerance for caffeine).

Yep Youtube is great. I can play every song with chords right away but am interested mostly in Romani (gypsy) and Gypsy Jazz. Having a teacher accelerates my progress quite a bit because him showing me something in 20 seconds would probably take me weeks or months to potentially figure out myself.

Hristo Botev

Post by Hristo Botev »

Dobrodošli! I spent a few months teaching English to a Bosnian family who'd recently immigrated to the US, during my last semester in college, but I'm guessing that wasn't you. Regardless, welcome! With a significantly positive net worth you're certainly light years ahead of where I was at 32.

Divandan

Post by Divandan »

Hvala Hristo! Unless it was in the early to mid 90's in Philly and it was for my grandparents it probably wasn't my family. Looking forward to being a part of this community!

Hristo Botev

Post by Hristo Botev »

Late 90s in the midwest; oh well. Shortly thereafter I spent a couple years living in the Balkans, and one of the items on my very long list of ERE-inspired DIY skills to learn is to make rakija at home (though I recently learned that's probably illegal). I'm already somewhat competent at making Turkish coffee at home, which I don't believe is illegal yet.

Divandan

Post by Divandan »

Rakija and Sliva both taste like acetone to me and whenever a friend wants to take a shot of it I cringe!