Alice_AU journal

Where are you and where are you going?
Alice_AU

Alice_AU journal

Post by Alice_AU »

Hi All,
I'm new to ERE concept and also found out about it quite late - just recently, at the age of 38.

I have a husband, 2 kids and 2 dogs and we recently moved to Australia from UK where we lived since 2004.

I also have many regrets about past financial mistakes, stupid spending and living paycheck-to-paycheck all of my life which means I'm almost 40 now but have no assets, no property, no real savings etc. Well, the past is the past, can't change it. Can only get to grips with the present and try to do my best for the future.

Hence starting this journal. I've been reading about ERE for about a month now but still not fully clear about what I should be doing. Hopefully writing things down will help me to get a more organized view.

Cheepnis

Re: Alice_AU journal

Post by Cheepnis »

Welcome! There isn't any concrete pre-prescribed thing you "should" doing. However, if you start reading most folks journals from the beginning you will find the first 10 or so pages are some variation of figuring out how to raise income and reduce expenses. Once that's figured out most turn to more philosophical fodder like "what even is happiness, maaann?"

Following that order: Do you know what your monthly expenses look like? Do you have any financial goals outside retirement?

Alice_AU

Post by Alice_AU »

So, I'm 38, my husband is 40, our kids are 12 and 14 years old.

I'll be writing mostly about myself here. I haven't had "the ERE talk" with my husband yet, and we always kept our finances separate anyway. We both contribute a set amount into joint expenses, it is $900/week from him and $2000/fortnight from me. Then we each do whatever we want with the rest. I manage the joint expenses - food, utilities, kids, old debts, vet, etc. Any personal needs and wants me or my husband have come out of our own budgets.