Lemur Journal!

Where are you and where are you going?
Lemur

Lemur Journal!

Post by Lemur »

Hey guys. Long-time lurker, every now and then poster.

Status: 27 years old, Married, One Son (2 years old), United States
Employment: I am a consultant / sub-contractor for government agencies
Skills: Government Budget, Finance, Some Construction, Amateur Python (learning now)
Salary: $58,500
Side Income: None yet
FIRE Progress: umm...7% or so.
Savings Rate: 25% last year. Haven't saved this year.
Assets: All Vanguard Passive-Index Funds ($85,000) + Old TSP Account ($3k)
Interests: Nutrition, Working-Out, Gardening, Python, Browsing the internet and wasting time

Most of my current savings were due to my 7 year stint in the military. A large chunk of that was saved when I was deployed. It was during my deployment, I got into saving/investing (mainly because I didn't know what to do with the money) and it was when I was getting tired of the military I was looking for "a way out." I stumbled upon investing books, eventually MMM, and than found myself here. I left the military in 2016 and have been figuring out how this career thing works since then.

I just came off a one month break between employers. Reduced my commute from 90 minutes to 30 minutes and have a slight bump in salary. My aim, like everyone else, is to retire early. I actually start my new job tomorrow so I am looking forward to the increased savings rate as my expenses will not be increasing.

I'll describe my expenses in a later post. Looking forward to random updates on my assets and also what is going on in my head.

Lemur

Re: Lemur Journal!

Post by Lemur »

Projected February Expenses: $2,200.
Current Assets: $88,000

I think the below is a good metric to update my journal with rather than use straight numbers:
Progress: 3.33x Expenses