LoriMeyer's journal

Where are you and where are you going?
LoriMeyers

LoriMeyer's journal

Post by LoriMeyers »

Today is my 41st birthday, I suppose this is as good a day as any to make my first journal entry. I've been reading other people's journals, and most of you are much more aggressive about getting there than I am. I'm a slacker. But I want FI, too! I may not make it there in 500 posts, but I'm going to give it a shot anyway. I didn't want to post because my situation is pretty embarrassing, but I've got to look it in the face if I want to kick its butt. That didn't make any sense literally, but I hope you get my meaning.

A little bit about me:

- ESTJ? I've only done a free online test. Not sure if it's reliable, but it sounds like me. Well, I thought I was an introvert, but that's another topic for another time.
- I'm a middle manager in a small production facility.

Up until now, I've spent more than I earned every month of my life, I'm guessing. I've never not lived paycheck to paycheck, balancing everything on credit, and credit, and more credit. I'm in a deep hole, and I'm just...tired. Anyway, you've all heard this song and dance before. I'm finally going to do something about it. It took me a while to gather everything up for September, but I think I got the hang of it now. Credit to C40 for the chart inspiration.

I'm not even going to start out with savings or dividend growth, because I have none of that. My first goal is to get out of debt. So I needed to see where I am, to see where I am going. This was a real eye opener.

SEPTEMBER 2017

INCOME
Normal Income $3,555
Extra Income $74

EXPENSE
Animals -$56
Car -$635
Credit Card -$568
Entertainment -$151
Food -$449
Household -$27
Housing & Utilities -$713
Medical -$300
Other -$81
Student Loan -$275

LEFTOVER
Debt Paid -$433
Saved $60

TOTALS
Total Income $3,629
Total Spent -$3,688

NET WORTH
Checking $323
Savings $262
Debt -$111,329
TOTAL NET WORTH -$110,744