Five Years, Lord Willing

Where are you and where are you going?
Jason

Five Years, Lord Willing

Post by Jason »

I want to thank ERE for this platform. I don't like to talk about myself, but I feel I need to in order to hear myself out in front of similarly minded people.

I am 51. My wife 57.

We have 365K in retirement savings. We owe 185K on our 265K house. We are DINKs. We should have more money but I don't need to explain why we don't. She will receive a pension of 1,500K per month when she retires. I will receive the amount of chocolate I can fit into my pockets when I leave the office my last day.

Last year we grossed 250K in income. We saved over 125K. I am a commercial real estate agent so my income fluctuates.

I want to be done in five years. I believe that with 500K, a paid off house and SS and this pension, we can retire somewhere in America. Where is the question. I believe I know how to get there - do not spend money.

That is all for now.

Jason

Re: Five Years, Lord Willing

Post by Jason »

I am a Christian. I am not here to evangelize or proselytize. I am hear to stuff my barns to the brim. Father, forgive me for my sin.

It seems to me ERE is about cutting, realizing what one doesn't need. For instance, I don't need to go to the office. I will never miss that. On that basis, I have that aspect of retirement down. I do not need to sit myself down in a room full of braggarts and blowhards.

If you ask me who I love most in life, I will say Jesus Christ. If you ask me who I hate the most, that would be Henry Ford. He started this aspirational, middle-class nonsense.