halcyon's journal

Where are you and where are you going?
halcyon

Post by halcyon »

12/17/2010
I've been reading the journals posted here and, having been inspired, I decided to start my own. In my experience, the single most important thing you can do to improve your chance of success in most endeavors is to associate with like-minded people. Even better: to associated with people who have already achieved what you hope to achieve.
I also want to start this journal to give me a place to track my progress, discuss ideas and primarily to hold myself accountable.
So for this first post, I wanted to talk a bit about where I'm coming from and where I want to be.
I've been working for about 5 years now and it only occured to me quite recently, about two years ago, that there has got to be a better way than the path I was shown. Like many, the map laid out before me was simple and it highlighted the path of least resistance: go to college, get a job, buy a car and a house, save 15% of your income for retirement, work for 40 years, and then a sort of unspoken step which was recently pointed out to me - hope you die before you run out of money. So begins my search for another map.
Eventually, I came across the idea of passive income, and a little later, I discovered real estate as a means of generating it.
Fast forward about a year and a half later. We bought our house and got married - two big expenses which we wanted to get out of the way before we started with real estate. A year of saving and a cashed-out 401k from my previous employer left us with enough capital to purchase our first rental, which we bought mid-August 2010.
A few more months forward and we are at the present. Previously, I had focused almost entirely on the income side of the FI equation. After discovering this place, I realized that I needed to give equal attention to the expense side as well.
Goals: