Suomalaisen Päiväkirja

Where are you and where are you going?
suomalainen

Suomalaisen Päiväkirja

Post by suomalainen »

I'm 36; sole income earner being a lawyer with a good job with great clients and a mix of interesting and boring work; DW of 13+ years and 3 kids; too many interests and not enough time; spreadsheet whore.

Approx net worth: 14,000

I got hit by a car this summer while riding my bike and had serious injuries, so I have a personal injury claim against the driver who was clearly at fault. Value is unknown at this time. Whatever we get will reimburse our savings account for the medical payments made and the balance will be used to pay off debt since I’m nervous about making a bulk purchase of securities in these markets. Dollar cost averager here. As to the personal injury claim, I haven’t hired an attorney yet since I’m a lawyer and have a fool for a client, so I’m trying to negotiate with the insurance company myself to see if I can get a reasonable pre-litigation settlement offer without the expense of a contingency fee. We’ll see how it goes.

I save some money and the rest gets spent.

Given the kids, I will be working seemingly forever. So, part of this is an exploration of how to survive the next 20 years.
Last edited by suomalainen on Wed Feb 07, 2018 6:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

Dragline

Re: Suomalaisen Päiväkirja

Post by Dragline »

Sorry about your accident and good luck dealing with the insurance company. Unfortunately, their strategy is often to attempt to wear the other party down.

I think I would also use that money to pay down debt, or at least a good chunk of it.

Noedig

Post by Noedig »

Hey, bummer about the bike accident. Agree with the other poster who said they try to wear you down as SOP. Being lawyerless you have alas volunteered for that. Hope you get a decent settlement.

As for the planning - looks like you are on track early. A good start.

suomalainen

Post by suomalainen »