Loche and Key to Freedom

Where are you and where are you going?
locheachles

Loche and Key to Freedom

Post by locheachles »

I have gained so much joy from reading everyone's journals on here that I thought I should start my own; additionally, it serves as an excellent motivation source and piece of accountability. Although I made a post in the introduction forum, I will do a brief recap here for anyone who comes along down the line and reads my journal.

About Me

I just turned 25 this past weekend. I live in the swamps of Louisiana, in Lafayette, but am originally from North Carolina. I got my undergraduate degrees in International Studies and Japanese at UNC, where I graduated early in December 2011. My interesting fact is that I have lived in Indonesia, Japan, Mexico, Trinidad, and Guatemala for various points of time for work/education.

I have always been conservative with money, however this seemed to be an inherent trait and not something with any direction. I never cared about any "business" type work or any "employable" studies (look at my majors haha) but was more of an artist/people/philosophical type of person. One day, not long after graduating, I met the CFO of an oilfield services company at a wedding rehearsal and he offered me a job for my international language skills. So, I moved to Lafayette and have since worked just over two years of mind-melting boring corporatism, from which I can't wait to escape.

Goals and the Why Factor

The main reason I'm pursuing the ERE lifestyle is twofold--1) I hate my current job and really have no desire to make a career in a conventional business setting and 2) I love nature and simplicity, and thus do not value consumer culture (though like many I have my own hypocrisies here and there)

My goal is to be FI at the age of 35 (a very safe FI at that, at around 1.5x or 2x of my needed expenses per year via SWR) Currently for me that is around 20k a year, or ~500k net worth with 4% SWR for a very conservative FI.