Going blue-collar

Where are you and where are you going?
Aquatter

Post by Aquatter »

Hello. Another poster from Europe here.

I graduated last spring (B.A. in philosophy) and although I enjoyed my degree immensely, I eventually decided to do something practical. Then I discovered ERE and after lots of thought decided to postpone my plans of going to engineering school, and start my ERE journey by getting a blue-collar or grey-collar job. I haven't decided on which trade to choose yet. There are several important criteria I can think of:
1. High salary (this is self-explanatory)

2. Mentally challenging / not boring job (I prefer problem solving and creative work rather than following strict guidelines)

3. Workplace safety (I'd rather retire healthy)
Additionally, it would be nice to:
4. Learn skills that are useful after ER (repairing, building things)

5. Get some "life experience" (like long-distance travel on merchant ships)
I'm leaning towards mechanic or electrician (are they really the most intellectually challenging blue-collar trades?), also investigating other occupations, like kitchen chef (I love to cook!) or carpenter. Any thoughts, suggestions?

jacob
Site Admin
Location: USA, Zone 5b, Koppen Dfa, Elev. 620ft, Walkscore 77

Post by jacob »

Marine diesel mechanic?

photoguy

Post by photoguy »

As per the other threads, I would pick a field that cannot easily be outsourced. I don't know if this is blue collar, but personally I would pick a profession like fire fighter.

Redsted1

Post by Redsted1 »