Rickardo's 10 years to freedom blog

Where are you and where are you going?
Rickardo

Rickardo's 10 years to freedom blog

Post by Rickardo »

Hi All,

Thought I would start a journal to assist in tracking my progress and keep me thinking and motivated.

About me
29 year old male living in Australia, have a partner but currently with separate living arrangements and finances, no children. These things may change within 5 years, at which point I'll reassess the plan.

I have been working in the same profession for almost 9 years and enjoy it, to the point where I am in no massive rush to retire, however the earlier I can have the option the better.

I have always been reasonably financially astute and sensible but i'm looking to really step up my savings rate through ERE lifestyle design, to be in a position to retire in full from paid employment after 20 years working.

All figures below are annually in Australian dollars. I’m keeping things simple for the purposes of this blog and not discussing inflation or investment returns here, as this blog is more about my savings rate)

Income
120,000 employment

Investment/Tax Expenses
-4,000 rental (negatively geared property)
-2,500 retirement contributions
-20,000 income taxes

Lifestyle Expenses
Between July 2012 and June 2013 I spent $51,845 on lifestyle expenses.

So far between July 2013 and current date (3 December 2013) I have spent $21,630. I’m trying to keep this to $45,000 to June 2014.

Then for the period July 2014 to June 2015 and beyond, I’m trying to get these down to around $40,000 per annum. Budget will look something like this:

Rent 10,400
Food/groceries 2,000
Take out/dining 2,300
Coffee 300
Entertainment 1,000
Alcohol 1,400
Car 7,000
Public Transport 800
Utilities 2,500
Travel 4,000
Financial Education/Books 200
Health / Fitness 2,000
Clothes 700
Snowboarding 1,500
Family Assistance 2,400
Presents 1,000
Other 500

Total $40,000

Rough Savings Rate over last 5 years
30-50%

Desired Future Savings Rate