Discouraged and Stressed Out by School

Where are you and where are you going?
gibberade

Post by gibberade »

Hello ERE community,
As you may have read in my introduction post, I am an 18 year old student in my first year of university.

It's not going so well. I'm living in a new city, have few friends, and am stressed out by school. I am living away from my family, aside from one sibling, who I live with.
The loneliness of moving to a new city is not a problem. Not only can I handle it, I kinda relish it. Just my personality. (That said, I still have met a few nice friends that I DO hang out with. I'm not a total hermit).
The stress of school is getting to me though. My courses are difficult and right now, overwhelming. My study habits have slipped and I found myself more interested in other things, like reading and websites that I'm interested in, like this one. Worse, I have a GPA target in order to qualify for my scholarship. Boo. I'm seriously worried that I'll fail a class. That's REALLY strange for me. I aced high school and as a result have my tuition paid for. I'm probably over-reacting though. Disastrous thinking.
In order to do well in school, I know I have to spend a lot of time on it. I'm interested in most of my classes, but my interest dips when the challenges peak. If that makes sense. I.e. Tests, quizes, grades etc. suck all the fun out of learning. Worse, university feels like "big business" to me. It's not a place of learning; it's a damn for-profit corporation that just wants to process students through. University is NOT the atmosphere what I thought it would be, or what it is romantically portrayed as.
Despite my initial angst, I'll probably stick with it for another 3 years and complete my economics degree. I guess it's just so unfeasible to switch paths now. Friends and family would be shocked. I myself would be quite uncomfortable with quitting.