Wizards' journal (ERE in Denmark)

Where are you and where are you going?
wizards

Wizards' journal (ERE in Denmark)

Post by wizards »

Entry #1 October 1, 2013

Hi everyone, time to start my journal covering my journey towards early retirement.

I have just reached an important milestone – SWR 5% - and finished reading Jacob’s book last month, so now seem to be a good time to start the journal.

I’m a 35 old economist who works with accounting/finance for a real estate company. I’m INTJ and have always had the passion for “economic freedom”.

I live in Denmark - English isn’t my first language so please don’t laugh too much of my spelling and grammar errors.

GF (29) and I split all shared costs 50/50 but don’t have joint economy.

We live in a 1,250 sq. feet house – no children jet (we plan for two). Our house is close to family but both of us have to commute. Me 55 miles (public transportation) and GF 32 miles (our car).

A now for the hard numbers (all USD we use DKK but guess nobody knows the value of those..):

Breakdown monthly spending:
Interest mortgage: USD 468
Interest mortgage “savings”: USD -139 *
Savings for repayment mortgage: USD 787 *
Property taxes: USD 229
Property insurance: USD 57
Utilities (heating, water, electricity and waste disposal): USD 436
Property maintenance: USD 90
Auto – gas: USD 377
Auto taxes: USD 50
Auto insurance: USD 55
Auto maintenance: USD 83
Public transportation: USD 266
Household (food etc.): USD 541
Insurance (disability): USD 48
Insurance (household, travel and legal): USD 41
Media taxes: USD 36
Phone and internet: USD 0 (paid by my employer)
Cable: USD 0 (cancelled)
Savings for vacation: USD 180
Saving for misc. new purchases: USD 180
Total shared monthly spending: USD 3,784

Of which we pay 50 per cent each: USD 1,892
Private spending (gifts, entertainment etc.): USD 360
Total monthly spending: USD 2,252

The shared monthly spending is “fixed” at USD 3,784 – any variations will affect the savings for repayment number.