spoonman's Journal

Where are you and where are you going?
spoonman

Post by spoonman »

Hi, my name is spoonman and my wife and I have been aggressively pursuing ERE for almost three years. I’ve been a lurker in this forum for two years and wish I had found it earlier.
My background is in nuclear physics and I went into aerospace after grad school. My wife works for an internet company. We’re both 33 y/o and don’t have plans to have kids. With the exception of our mortgage and a small student loan (at 1.8%, which I can easily pay back in 2-3 months), we’re debt free.
We’re dividend growth investors. We currently own about 30 blue-chip companies across multiple sectors, each only comprising of less than 5% of our total DG portfolio. This style of investing has been thoroughly discussed by Dividend Growth Investor and other bloggers such as Dividend Mantra (DividendGuy in this forum). The portfolio is currently (as of 3/30/2013) producing about $9500 per year and we’ve managed to grow the annual dividends by about $4000 each year. That rate of growth will probably slow down given the fact that most companies we own are either overvalued or fully valued. If we were to stop making contributions right now, the dividends would grow by at least 8% each year (that’s last year’s weighted average growth, the 10-year weighted average growth is more like 11%).
The automatic dividend growth, which can easily outpace inflation, is one of the most attractive aspects of the DG investing strategy. The other awesome aspect is that it is incredibly passive: the dividends just keep coming in month after month and only requires a few minutes of time per week to monitor. These days I spend about 2 hours per week monitoring my companies, but that’s because DG investing is one of my hobbies.