Zarathustra's Journal

Where are you and where are you going?
zarathustra

Post by zarathustra »

-I'm a 30yo single female

-eNTJ

-I am living in a van (for 6 mos so far)

-Working in the bay area in tech

-I like my job but I change a lot

-I studied Philosophy in college (Continental Phil for those that know)

-I eat "Dirty Carnivore" (very low carb)

-I like to read, write music, do outdoor stuff like hike

-I use permanent portfolio method for my investments

-I am basically 1/3 of my way to FI right now
I started out in ERE last spring (2012) with no debt from previously being big on personal finance.
-Last January, my monthly budget was 3728

-This January, my monthly budget is 975
Last year I made the following changes:
-Stopped smoking

-Got rid of most of my possessions through selling, giving away

-Traded my car in for a cargo van and began to live in it

-Got a cell from work, so no cell bill

-Shower and store food at work

-Pay to store a few things at a friends' and batch cook there once a week

-Began removing or minimizing other expenses
My current savings rate is: 86.96%
My goal this year is to average less than 1k a month while working because I have many perks I get from work I wouldn't have once I leave.
My current vision of life after FI includes ideas like:
-Travel US in van doing hiking/camping at national parks while popping in to visit friends and family all over country

-Writing books and music

-Travel all other continents slowly

-Buying land, building a small home myself, and building as self-sustaining of a life as possible

-Sailing/living in a sailboat

-Getting a job in tech elsewhere in the world and living in another country for a year

m741

Post by m741 »

Nice, living in a van! I'd like to hear more about that. Any problems? Where do you park it?
It's funny, your FI aspirations are pretty much the same as mine!

dot_com_vet

Post by dot_com_vet »