Meliora's Journal

Where are you and where are you going?
Meliora

Post by Meliora »

Hello all,
This is where I will keep my journal, keep track of my expenses and other goals. At first, it might be about rather 'simple' goals without much financial 'math'. However, as I progress and once I 'actually' start working (full-time), I hope this journal progresses as well.
But first things first; the bare basics:

First of all, I am not a real big earner. Not at all.

I am still a student and at the moment I am happy with every single penny (Euro, whatever) I can save with my part-time job(s). As such, this journal will be mostly about reducing expenses wherever possible. Also, I am looking to increase my (financial) knowledge, improve my health and overall ability to ‘make it on my own my own’ (DIY-skills, survival, changing my mind-set and so on).

Of course, I will try to look for ways to earn more and I will not be one to pass on an opportunity to earn more. However, during my study I do not expect to earn much more than I currently do, working 10-20 hours a week.

I no longer need to support my family with some extra money, which will hopefully help me to ‘steady’ my finances more.
The Situation (finances and living):

I currently live together with my partner in a 3-room apartment (kitchen-living room, bedroom, study/work-room). We share the rent and other living costs on a 1:2 ratio (somewhat similar our salary ratio, he works as a risk-manager). We share the grocery expenses on a 1:1 basis, just because.

I have a separate account on which I saved money for my study (fees, books and what-not) and currently have 3000 Euros in savings. The tuition fee for coming year has been paid already.