Where are you and where are you going?
C40

C40's Journal

Post by C40 »

Hello
A little background on me:
- 28 year old male.
- Live in USA
- Studied engineering at a university and work in manufacturing.
- My goal right now is to hit FI around before 40, and to retire around 45.

I Graduated with about $20k student loans, making $50k per year. I'd planned to live below my means. Over time I sort of forgot about that, or became complacent because I was putting more into my 401k than most people. I didn't focus very hard on my finances, and I had spurts of spending a lot of money on things (bicycles, cameras, TV/computers, and a new car!)

Before I get started with the months I'll share some old values I just dug up. I have been emailing my brother monthly reports so far this year. I will paste in those reports to get started and share the progress I've made this year.
I apologize in advance for my writing. I'm often not as clear as I should be, and I have a tendency to be long-winded. I'll be trying to improve.

*Note - this journal was started pretty long ago. There were charts included in some of these old posts that are no longer visible because of changes related to image hosting
Last edited by C40 on Sat Jun 25, 2022 9:21 am, edited 4 times in total.

C40

Post by C40 »

Finances before ERE discovery/desires:
Looking back through my computer files, I think around January 2008 I noticed I had strayed too far from my plans to live below my means. I had a file starting at that point tracking my debts and progress paying them off.

JANUARY 2008 DEBTS:
- Car loan - $8,700
- College Loans - $14,600
- Credit Card #1 - $2,800
- Credit Card #2 - $3,500
Total Debt- $29,600