Not made for consuming ~ Bos journal

Where are you and where are you going?
bos

Not made for consuming ~ Bos journal

Post by bos »

I would like to start writing more to get the thoughts in my head out on the paper. People around me do not share the FIRE interest, which is fine. But I think it is important to share my thoughts and ideas to be able to reflect better on what the heck I am actually doing. Sometimes you think you have an amazing idea or theory in your head, until you tell it to your friends. They give you this weird look and you even surprise yourself a little how you come up with this garbage idea in the first-place. I hope for that kind of reflection from the forum.

It started about 2 years ago. As a student I had a lot of time on my hands. I maintained my little motorcycle and rode it around, grew some notorious Dutch stink plants with friends, and went to the beach a lot. Then I graduated and got my first job. In the film industry, more specifically in visual effects.

My life changed pretty quickly for the worse. 50 hours a week, stress and no time for my hobbies. That same year, my father lost his job. He was working in a dying industry. Something that is also close to my heart in the visual effects industry. This combination made me realize that I didn't want to work until retirement, and prompted me to look for resources on the subject. This is where I came across ERE.

The first step I took was to switch from the film industry to data science. It was a good decision, both in terms of stress and pay, and will help me on my way to FIRE.
I have been buying everything second hand for about 6 years now. This has been a lot of fun. I have met many interesting people this way. The last item was my Coleman stove that came from a soldier who was sent to Afghanistan. That was a great conversation with the guy.

Maybe some details here to spice it up:
- Male
- Living in Germany
- 24 years old
- 50k savings (2 years of saving)