South America - ER

Where are you and where are you going?
Beaba

South America - ER

Post by Beaba »

Hello

I am single, mid 20 years old born and raised in South America I am doing a master's with the goal of going to a good Ph.D in the US . My life history is similar to other people from poor countries around the world, I was raised by a poor single mother that lived with less than $300 a month. Although I had a simple childhood I always had food, shelter and love. During my teen years, I did very well on the academic side which drastically changed my life, I moved from a poor rural area in the countryside to a large city to study with the richest people from the country.

From this point in my life, I consider that my journey for ERE started the feeling of being different from my rich school friends left a constant inner struggle between my high achiever academic persona and my rural persona. Fast forward 10-year later o today, my main struggle in life is still trying to fit in with my high achiever peers and being true to myself. As I do know that other forum members have the same problem I decided to start this journal.

My main goal with this journal is to empathize with others on the same path about my inner struggles, practice/improve my English and talk about the specifics of living in a third-world country.

Although my main goal is not to talk about my financial situation because I consider that ER is a natural consequence of my natural belief system I am going to give a small glance at this because I am at a financial forum after all. I have four years of a financial cushion, my income right now is almost zero although I receive a small stipend and my goal is to work in the US after my PhD to increase my savings but I will probably retire in a small town in Brazil.

Life missions:
1) Life life on my own terms
2) Retire at 40 with $300k nw.
3) Help the education of my country