Western Red Cedar's Journal

Where are you and where are you going?
Western Red Cedar

Western Red Cedar's Journal

Post by Western Red Cedar »

I have been pursuing financial independence for roughly five years. I'm generally a private person and don't engage with any social media. After reading through various journals, I've finally decided to document my journey here as this represents a valuable opportunity to track my growth and frame my thinking about critical decisions along the FI path. I've also learned a lot from various strategies and techniques implemented by this community, and thought that in a few years someone else may find value in my path.

I track my net worth monthly, but stopped tracking expenses after doing so for about six months because I found it a bit tedious and my expenses don't seem to actually change that much. As a household, DW and I spend an average of about $2000 per month, with $785 of that coming from rent. This doesn't include medical expenses (taken from my paycheck or paid for through an FSA). I felt our budget was quite extravagant, until I realized that many here are reporting separate finances from their partner. DW and I maintain separate accounts, and generally split expenses, but I cover a larger share of the household expenses as I have a higher income. Documenting this all in a journal may encourage me to develop a relevant and appropriate accounting methodology.