ABN to FI(RE) :: 2019 -> 202?

Where are you and where are you going?
abn

ABN to FI(RE) :: 2019 -> 202?

Post by abn »

Hi..

As most of you, im into this FIRE'y thing. Looking to improve life, and create a system around me and my family (fiancée and a 2 year old), that creates opportunities down the road, instead of the 'auto pilot' way of consuming our way through life.

I've been lurking for a year, and been planning to make a journal ever since. I've postponed it again and again and now a year later, i see it has become a habit. So thanks to Rube for just telling me to get started, even though i have so many good reasons to postpone it one more time, until i finish my master thesis i January 2020. So here we go..

As mentioned, i've been aware of FIRE for a year, but my mind has been entertained with theorising frugal strategy for quite some time, without knowing about FIRE. This means i've been tracking expenses for the last 3 years or so, and been consciously working towards lowering spending and constantly improving my numbers. A lot has changed though the last 3 years, also the way i've been putting the numbers together, so i will start out fresh here. Maybe in the worst situation possible, as i'm on my last 6 months of studying, and my state education grant is finished. This means i will have to live off of savings until February, which even though i planned this, hurts to see decreasing every month.

A few expectations to put up here now, and hopefully will be challenged during the process to the better:
- Perspective on FIRE, life values, expectations and priorities will change over time. This is an overwhelming journey, so i will leave some of the worries for later and focus on developing 'the system', strategy and what else is needed to reach 'goal' some day