Farm life and Semi-ER

Where are you and where are you going?
horsewoman

Farm life and Semi-ER

Post by horsewoman »

So, my journal... I'm not sure if it is a good idea to start one. So far I have never managed to keep a journal longer than a few entries. But I really see the benefit of writing down ones thoughts so maybe this will be THE journal I stick with!

I really enjoy reading the journal section, it is a very good way to keep ERE-principles fresh in my thoughts all the time. Next on my reading list is “The Book” but it seems that I have misplaced my kindle. Which is really annoying. And a side effect of our way too big farm house, so much room to store trash... But I digress. Read more about said farm house and our current situation in my introduction: viewtopic.php?f=1&t=10700

How will I structure this journal? Good question. At the moment I don't have a lot of data for any financial overviews. I have been recording our expenses for about 18 months in a spread sheet, but the data is not super accurate. The first few months were spent finding my feet about what categories and how to gather amounts. I feel I'm on a good way, but of course my spread sheet is kept in German, so I need to translate it for posting.

A bigger “problem” are our assets and investments. We have a few different saving plans for retirement, but I have to admit I have no idea to what they amount in total. Maths is not my strong suit unfortunately, and my personality is such – if I don't understand something really fast I'll avoid dealing with it at any cost. Probably because I understand most things really fast, so I lack the tools for digging into a topic I'm not particularity interested in, staying power if you like. I'm super chuffed about myself that I managed to record our spending consistently for over a year! YAY me! Maybe there is hope for me yet.