AE's Journal

Where are you and where are you going?
AnalyticalEngine

AE's Journal

Post by AnalyticalEngine » Fri Feb 08, 2019 2:47 pm

BACKGROUND
I am a 28-year-old software developer who currently lives in Denver with a networth of $300k (half is in real estate and half is in retirement accounts in index funds). I discovered MMM back in 2012, when I got my first job, and have been pursing FIRE ever since then. However, I think discovering MMM so early tainted my perspective on a lot of things and now I am trying to unravel unhealthy habits and beliefs while pursing a more web-of-goals approached to life.

My initial FIRE plans consisted of "save 25x and retire to the equivalent of playing video games." This idea colored my view of the world and of work. As a result, I had a terrible attitude about work and tried to do the minimum. After all, what was the point of trying when I would be retired in 5 years? This attitude also seeped into my personal life. I developed hobbies that were obsessed with a kind of anti-reality, fantasy life because I thought I was above everything else. Specifically, I started to dedicate most of my life outside of work to fandom and drawing fan comics. I spent a lot of time in online chat spaces and made a lot of friends who were also neck deep in fandom.

A CHANGE IN GOALS - "You will know a tree by its fruit."
I will spare everyone the details, but based on how unhealthy everyone involved in fandom tends to be, I have realized this isn't a good place for me. There's also no future in it--drawing fan comics is a fun hobby, but there's nothing useful about it. I have learned to draw well, which is a useful skill, but it's not going to help me if I keep drawing this subject material.

NEEDING CHALLENGE