Libraries and Gardens

Simple living, extreme early retirement, becoming and being wealthy, wisdom, praxis, personal growth,...
7Wannabe5

Libraries and Gardens

Post by 7Wannabe5 »

"If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need." Marcus Tullius Cicero

The purpose of this thread will be to debate the truth of this quote, and to discuss the core meaning or implications of the words "have", "garden", "library" and "need." It is also highly likely that I will babble at some length on the topic of life-cycle management of libraries and gardens, since these are realms in which I have some knowledge and experience.

First approach to the truth of Cicero's statement, within the context of this forum, would be to inquire if we are in agreement that if an individual had a garden and a library, they would not necessarily need passive income from an investment portfolio in order to happily achieve FI/ERE? Would we also agree that having enough passive investment income to afford constant fluid access to healthy selection of brain and body food would constitute equally happy alternative solution?

chenda

Re: Libraries and Gardens

Post by chenda »

I think it was a given anyone who had a garden and library in those times was financially independent.

We might say you all you need today is a house and an internet connection...

Jason

Post by Jason »

Yes, books were extremely expensive before the invention of the printing press so the discussion would have to take place within our historical context. Not to mention, most people were illiterate.

That being said, if human companionship is implicit in the equation, then yes . However you would be limited to certain climates .

enigmaT120

Post by enigmaT120 »

Maybe if I had myself gelded a library and a garden would be enough. Was Cicero intact?

No, wait -- I need forest, too.

J_

Post by J_ »