Medical Tourism for U.S. Proletariat

Simple living, extreme early retirement, becoming and being wealthy, wisdom, praxis, personal growth,...
Spartan_Warrior

Medical Tourism for U.S. Proletariat

Post by Spartan_Warrior »

For those of us in the U.S. with expensive and ineffective private health insurance (so, all of us)... anyone have any experience with medical tourism? Any particularly good countries/facilities for U.S. citizens to undergo expensive procedures at a reasonable, non-life destroying rate? Particularly for lazy folks like me who speak only English and a negligible amount of Spanish, Latin, and C++.

I've heard Thailand is good?

RealPerson

Re: Medical Tourism for U.S. Proletariat

Post by RealPerson »

I have some personal experience with health care in other more - or less- developed countries. The quality varies a lot between facilities and providers, even in more developed countries. The variation is greater than in the US, but even here there is variation between facilities and doctors.

You would need to do some research before committing to a provider. I am not sure how to do that. The things I worry about are the critical steps taken by lower paid staff. For example, it is difficult to control infection risk between patients. Yes the doctors play their role, but what the staff does with instruments and treatment surfaces is at least as important. Are you sure that the needles are trown away after one use? Are vials of injectables thrown away after a single use? How well are these people trained and are they given the extensive necessary resources to accomplish this task? I don't know how you find that out, unless you have knowledge and can observe from the inside.

almostthere

Post by almostthere »