Reflections on 1 year of Early Retirement Extreme

Simple living, extreme early retirement, becoming and being wealthy, wisdom, praxis, personal growth,...
Matt3121

Reflections on 1 year of Early Retirement Extreme

Post by Matt3121 »

So...

it's officially been a year for me since I found out about ERE. As noted in some of my other posts, because of health reasons, I did an immediate 180 degree turn and reduced my expenses dramatically from 5k+ a month to about 750/mo. I also was able to completely retire in December because of the changes I've made. I figured I'd share some of what I learned. I'm sure I'm going to rehash some of the things I've written in other posts so feel free to skip that if you are bored. I'm just kind of explaining how my views towards ERE and money have evolved.

I should warn you this is rather long, I’ve highlighted the subjects in bold though. I’ve found it very cathartic to write this though because so much has changed for me over the last year and I’ve made such dramatic changes. I cannot overstate how much of a positive impact ERE had.

First of all the thing that really appealed to me, other than not having to work, was the extremeness of it. Jacob doesn't make any bones about it. His way is to live extremely frugal. And after reading his blog (I think I read literally every post straight through) I was just dumbstruck by how crazy it was. It seemed so impossible at the time.

I knew I couldn't approach Jacob's level but I figured I could at least cut back. After achieving that and getting down to about $1,500 a month back in December I was able to quit permanently. This was very helpful because my health was so bad, but by not working
I could work a lot more on my diet, and interestingly enough it did start to have an impact. Through trial and error I was able to find what worked and what didn't work. Now I'm actually doing half decent (Eating brown rice, no salt seemed to make a big impact. I have
no idea why).