I'll teach you a way to make good bread at home

Fixing and making things, what tools to get and what skills to learn, ...
Hégé

I'll teach you a way to make good bread at home

Post by Hégé »

I think a lot of you are interested in getting good at sourdough bread making,

I live in France and work in an artisan bakery, so I though I would try to teach some of you. I am not an expert yet, but I know enough to get you going in making bread.

First step, is getting the right materials.

You'll need
  • Flour or grain. You need organic flour or grain, otherwise you'll just poison yourself, it's useless. Flour must be milled with stones and you should have little or almost no bran in it. Contrarily to popular beliefs, bran is bad for you, it is not digestible in bread. (unless prepared in a particular way, soaked, etc...).

If you get grain instead of flour, you should buy or have a mill at your home. Unless you have an exceptional flour mill next to where you live, it may be the best option, because fresh flour is immensely superior to old flour. You lose a lot of the nutrients and taste with time.
    (example of what to buy : http://www.moulins-alma.pro/fr/moulins- ... seuse.html )
  • Water. Almost any water is fine. No rain water. If it comes from the tap, let it rest overnight to remove the chlorine.
  • Salt. Good quality coarse salt. Sea salt is fine but just know that sea salt nowadays is always polluted in some way.
  • Oven. Oven that can go up to 260 °C (500 °F). Brick oven is the best, if you have that in your garden. You can also buy a brick oven for the kitchen, but it cost a lot. https://www.lepanyol.com/fr/fours-a-boi ... liers.html